Camp Lunches, Processed Food and Making Your Own Food

This is what I am packing my daughter for camp lunches (and breakfast and snack). I admit is does make it easy in the rush of the morning but it’s going to change come fall. We will have even less time in the mornings so I need to figure out a plan. I will probably pack our lunches the night before. Just looking at all the processed food makes me mad. And the raisins aren’t organic and there’s soy in the granola bars. Ugh! Sorry baby girl. Momma’s going to do better!IMG_0692

IMG_0765Meanwhile I went to Whole Paycheck the other day for dinner and got this lovely, delicious-looking plate of food for $10.00. They were selling the salmon by itself for $9.99 or the salmon with two sides for $10.00. I got the two sides. LOL. So the salmon was grilled and topped with a mango salsa with  mangoes, peppers and onions. The sides I got were a mushroom salad with some bok choy and a vegetarian pasta salad. It looked so tasty and was pretty reasonable for that place. I was going to get sushi but that was crazy expensive– $15.00 for six (or was it eight?) rolls. Even the vegetarian rolls were $12.00! What in the world?! Twelve freaking dollars for some rice, seaweed, carrots and cucumber? It probably cost them $0.30 to make it. Crazy mark up I tell you. Anyways, I was really excited to eat my meal and I brought it home, removed the cover and took a big bite. Sheer disappointment. It was so bland and tasteless. I was shocked but I doctored it up. I got some lettuce and avocado and nuts and raisins and whipped up a salad dressing and it was much, much better. I am finding that I really do prefer to eat things I make myself. By the way, I ate some wheat yesterday to see what the culprit was (good excuse to finish up the chocolate chip cookies :)) and yeah, it was the dairy. So disappointing as I LOVE ice cream and cheese so much (and so does my daughter) but yeah, we gotta let go of dairy. She’s had a constant runny nose since we have been in the States and I don’t know if it’s the dairy here or the rug in our apartment but for me it does sadly seem to be the dairy. I will do another experiment eating a lot of dairy and see what happens on another day.IMG_0766

Leave a Reply

