Bye-Bye Dairy

I have a full-on cold. The real deal, like with phlegm and everything. I can’t remember the last time I was sick. I used to get sore throats in the tropics but I rarely had phlegm and coughing. I think the sore throats there were more due to the pollution but this seems to be directly related to poor health/compromised immune system. I find this curious because I am sleeping a lot more. I don’t feel as tired during the day so I think I must be sleeping better and my stress level has been reduced considerably. The only thing left is food! We rarely ate dairy products overseas but here I am putting yogurt in my smoothies (never did that before). Also the ice cream seems much richer here and the pizza had tons more cheese. I really think this is what it is! My daughter also has a constant runny nose that she had when we lived here before. Overseas she rarely had a runny nose.

I’m sad to say it but we are going to go (mostly) dairy-free. I will no longer buy yogurt or cheese or ice cream. Sniff. We already drink almond milk exclusively so that will stay the same and I think coconut yogurt for smoothies sounds good but there really aren’t good substitutes that I know of for cheese and ice cream. Those are going to be missed! Butter on the other hand will stay. I don’t do margarine or vegan spreads so butter stays and I am sure we will eat pizza or ice cream from time to time but I won’t buy dairy from the market anymore (again except for my beloved butter). In other words they will be reduced drastically. I am hoping this helps with my phlegm issues!

Have you noticed any health benefits when you cut out dairy?

One response to this post.

  1. We’ve been dairy free for quite awhile. It has helped us with sinus and digestive issues.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

