It’s Been a Long Week

Work drama, kid drama, overwhelmed with details. These haven’t made it easy to stay focused but I am here to report that I have done very well! There was pizza at work on Thursday and I didn’t cave and eat any; someone offered me a sweetened yogurt and I turned it down, and most impressive: I made my daughter a delicious looking grilled cheese sandwich yesterday and didn’t make one for myself–and, boy, did I want to!!

Last night I made an amazing dinner: baked chicken thighs with butter and rosemary, acorn squash with butter and cinnamon and a salad with romaine, raisins, cashews and a homemade basil dressing. It was delicious! During the week I drank several green smoothies, ate loads of veggies and drank a ton of water. I am pretty proud of myself thus far.

Now it’s time for a confession, well two.

#1. My daughter asked me to buy her the canned chili from Trader Joe’s after she sampled it in the store and liked it. I caved because it is so hard to pack her something for lunch that she likes. Tonight at dinner she claimed it was too spicy and couldn’t eat it (because she was ready for dessert) but I took a mouthful to be sure. Yeah, no. Not spicy at all. I spit it out but it did have sugar in it.

#2. This second example though is faaaaaaaaar worse and even embarrassing to post…. My sugar cravings were pretty intense the other night. I was craving something sweet so I made some pumpkin muffins with almond flour. The recipe I used called for honey. They turned out okay but not the right sweetener for my taste; the next time I make them I will use maple syrup instead. So after sampling one  I decided I should put butter and maple syrup on them to make them tastier. The maple syrup was so tasty I ended up eating several licks (like 50) of plain syrup!! Not kidding! It tasted oh so good but made me realize my sugar addiction is strong (as if I didn’t know that) and I need to keep on pressing on to try to get through it.

The biggest hurdle is preparation and time. One day all I had was grape tomatoes for lunch! That was no fun! LOL. Today is Sunday so I need to cook some food for the week and freeze it to be sure we always have healthy sugar and wheat-free options available. I did make some applesauce this week which my daughter declared was better than store-bought (score!) which is already in the fridge and I plan to make some pumpkin oatmeal today. It feels like the 1950s and even though I don’t enjoy doing all this cooking, I must admit the food tastes awesome!

Leave a Reply

