Fruits and Veggies Baby!

My mind keeps going back to what I saw in Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead. That movie was amazing. If you are having challenges with your weight or your health, I recommend you watch it if you haven’t. It was inspiring. It reminded me of a time when I ate only fruits and veggies for three days once. A friend of mine did this with me and we speak of it often. Day 1 we were motivated. Day 2 we were hungry. Day 3 we were bored with the choices but we felt amazing. Seriously really, really amazing. I remember that feeling as if it were yesterday. I want that again. Thing is, I did that when I was about 25 and in much better health. I imagine it will take me much longer than 3 days to feel great (I bet a month is more likely) but I go back to work in a five days so however long I can sustain it-great. For now I just want to give my body a rest and help clear out some the toxins.

In the movie Joe drank a green juice every day. I am going to start my day with a juice.This was his recipe:

1 bunch of kale
some ginger
1/2 lemon
4 stalks of celery
2 granny smith apples
1 cucumber

I am also a fan of Kimberly Snyder and she starts each day with a green juice as well. Here’s her recipe:

1 bunch of kale

4 stalks of celery

1 small apple

1/2 lemon

Very similar!

Kimberly Snyder also recommends drinking her Glowing Green Smoothies as a morning option. Here’s that recipe:

1.5 cups of water
1/2 bunch of spinach
4 stalks of celery
1 apple
1 pear
1 banana
1/2 lemon

Today is day 1. I started the day with 7 hours of sleep (10:30-5:30) and did some yoga for hips when I woke up. I am looking forward to a simple day of fruits and veggies.

Have you ever done a fast? What did you eat? How long were you able to sustain it? What were your results?

Leave a Reply

