Been Cooking Up a Storm!

For someone who used to not enjoy cooking AT ALL, and we are talking as recently as a few years ago, I have come a LONG way. I started cooking a few years ago when I cut back on processed foods and then I moved overseas. Let’s just say that having a live-in cook for two years really spoiled me! When I returned neither my daughter nor I enjoyed much of the processed foods so readily available (sadly our tastes are starting to re-acclimate to the processed American way) so it was on me to do the cooking.

Yeah, that sucks.

Cooking takes TIME which I have none of but I make it a priority because I don’t want to eat junk and I surely don’t want my daughter eating it! Sure, we slip up from time to time and end up in the McDonald’s drive thru line ordering some french fries but not often. Here are a few things I have whipped up in the past few weeks:

1. This is a soup/stew I created off the top of my head. I know, it doesn’t look too appetizing but don’t let fool you. It has ground beef, chick peas, onions, carrots, acorn squash and a broth base. I also threw in some cinnamon and raisins cause I felt they needed them. I threw everything except the raisins in the crock after browning the beef first and cooked it for 6 hours or so. I didn’t follow a recipe; I was just trying to use up some of the produce in my house (I always, always buy too much) but it turned out really good!

IMG_2525

2. This is another soup I made up. I looked online for a coconut cream kale soup and referred to three different recipes when coming up with this one. Turns out I had cooked some Swiss chard I was trying to use up but it was fine. I browned some onions in oil and spices and then added them to a pot with coconut cream, broth, the swiss chard and some broccoli. Cooked it up and used an immersion blender to mix it up. Yummy! I used to be so in awe of my mom when she could whip up a delicious soup from ingredients around the kitchen. Turns out it’s not that hard.

IMG_2526 IMG_2535

 

3. These were interesting! I made some gluten-free brownies with black beans. I was AMAZED that  you could substitute black beans for flour but let me tell you, you can! I was so impressed with how they turned out. Yummy!

IMG_2515

 

4. Cranberry sauce. Again, had some cranberries on their last legs so I whipped this up with some cane sugar and cinnamon. Still a bit tart but I am looking forward to eating it with a chicken I am going to make later in the week.

IMG_2510That’s all for now.

What have you been cooking lately?

2 responses to this post.

  1. I had heard about the black bean in the brownie thing but always wondered if it really worked. cool!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

